Disney: Better or Worse?

I’m sure the Disney fans have heard the news about the princesses but for those of you who don’t know. Disney made to decision to “update” our princesses. They went from the classics that we know and love to layers of makeup, curly locks, and glittery outfits.

As a huge Disney fan, I am not an advocate for their new choice. Many of the designs don’t represent who the characters are or what they stand for.

Either side you choose, it is definitely an interesting move for them, especially with all of the self-esteem issues around now.

Well now they have decided to change one of the key faces of the company: Minnie.

Israeli fashion designer Alber Elbaz poses with Minnie wearing a dress by Lanvin fashion house and designed by Alber Elbaz, at the Eurodisney Parc, in Marne la Vallee, east of Paris, Saturday, March 23, 2013. (AP Photo/Thibault Camus)

I don’t fully understand the change but what really stumped me was the fact that the outfit has signature aspects with more of the designer in mind than the character.

All these changes are affecting the face of Disney but how are they affecting them? Are these good or bad? What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Disney: Better or Worse?

  1. I can understand why Disney felt the need to ‘update’ the princesses, so they look more modern. We like modern things, and Disney had felt the need. Yet, I disagree with it. There is a reason these princesses have the iconic looks they do. We grew up with them a certain way and they should be kept that way. Even though I haven’t been into Disney since I was a kid, I could understand why people our age (or older) would be upset.

    I don’t think it has much to do with self-esteem, although I do agree that self-esteem has an issue these days. That has a lot to do with media and the kinds of things people are into, but that’s a whole other subject for a different day.

    Here’s my post: http://bit.ly/ZXCkcm

    – Joel

  2. In my opinion I completely agree with the Disney Princess update or in this case make-over. Although, I am a princess at heart when the 1996 Pocahontas came out on VHS and as a 6 year-old girl I thought they were beautiful. But in the year 2013 the definition of beauty has changed and in this generation expectation of little girls are a lot higher. The amount of exposure a 6 year-old gets today from TV and what they see walk down the street adds up to how Disney has decided to depict their characters. So, in the end Disney is changing as trends and generations change. And change is good…. Great blog Raven…..

  3. Thanks. I totally agree that change is good. But is this type of change good for Disney? That’s where I’m stuck. Making the Princesses more modern isn’t a problem but they change the overall vibes we get from characters like Mulan. She is portrayed in the movie as straying away from the beautification process and being a strong female. In my opinion, this change makes her (and some other princesses) too modern…. too “pretty”.

  4. I personally feel they should go back to the original looks for the princesses! their facial features now are just disgusting, like the original princesses got plastic surgery. I was a kid in the 90s when some of these movies came out, and now I have a 4 year old daughter who loves Disney princesses. It disturbs me that she doesn’t really know what the princess merchandise is supposed to look like, and all she has are these grotesque looking things. I finally saw a Mulan toy, it was her palace pet and her picture was on the package, it was the first Mulan toy I have seen since my daughter came along and I was mortified at how they changed her. I wont even buy my daughter some princess things because of how their faces look. I don’t want my child to believe those looks should be achieved or are normal or attractive in any way. So for me I feel they should make them look more normal and after that also bring back Pocahontas and Jasmine as well, along with Mulan.

Leave a Reply

